New Year

I am listening to music of my childhood.  60 year old music, no not really, but maybe 50 years old.  I guess some would call this music Golden Oldies…maybe it is. “Time Time Time Look Whats Become of Me”  A+ if you guessed Simon and Garfunkle.    Heck, maybe I am.  Am I a Golden Oldie?  I don’t feel it until I stand up and hear the popping sound my knees make.  I don’t feel it until I look at the pictures of my children found tucked away in a forgotten drawer.  I don’t feel it until I reach to call my family on this end of the decade to wish them blessings for the new year and nobody is left.

It was not a good year, so I guess it is fitting that I end it on a reflective note.  At 61 I broke my wrist!  Haha!  No simple broken wrist for me….mine exploded!  I now have a piece of metal in my wrist.  How many golden oldies can say that….I broke my arm falling off of my wonderful Tennessee Walker..Daisy Mae.  She is my life line.  The little blond filly that keeps me sane and listens to all my aches a pains.  Image may contain: shoes, outdoor, nature and water

She and I have a great time together, but I did have a second fall this year.  I like to call them an unscheduled dismount.  She spun around and I went flying.  When I came to she was looking at me as if to say “what the heck are you doing down there?”  Well yea, that one hurt.  Tore my jeans, smashed my helmet, bruised my pride.  But hey, I am still riding and following my passion.   How many golden oldies can make that claim!

I am moving into the new year with hope and optimism….I oiled my granddaughters saddle.  Anticipating her visit this summer and excited for the adventures we will have.

Maybe being a Golden Oldie isn’t a bad thing.  Maybe is a badge, like a Sheriff Star to be worn proudly and polished often.

Happy New Year!  May you and yours have a great year to come.

 

 

Leave a comment