Socks…Uh No!

As you know, I started knitting my first pair of socks last February.  I bought pretty hot pink yarn, the book on sock knitting and spent an entire day in class.  I felt pretty good as I managed the four (yes 4) needles necessary to handle at one time to knit these special gems.  I got the top ribbing done, turned the heel and started on the foot.  One day I took a really hard look at my work and decided it was terrible.  For one thing I had the dreaded ladder where my four joins happened and secondly my heel was all messed up.  I put the project in my bag and that is where it been.  Sitting in my family room.  Mocking me each time I glance over at the bag; every time hubby asks me how the socks were going.  Not going to happen, not in a million years. Nobody in my family will know the joy of a pair of hand knit socks; at least not from me.

Needless to say, I have not been knitting.  You don’t start a new project when you have one already going.  Yea Right!  So my very dear friend sent me a text early December and asked me if I would knit her a messy bun hat.  She even sent me a pattern that she found.  Unfortunately the adorable hat was crocheted and not knitted.  I don’t want to learn to crochet, I really don’t.  So I did the only thing I could think of.  I WENT TO THE FIBER STORE!  I was only going to see if they could help me find the pattern I needed.  Big Mistake!!

The second I stepped into the store I knew why I knitted.  It isn’t because I love spending hours manipulating knots so I can barely move my fingers.  No it is because I absolutely love the fibers.  I love the fibers so much that I have often talked to hubby about opening a fiber store.  But alas, I don’t knit well enough to run such as shop.  So, I just  have to satisfy my love of beautiful colors and soft wools by buying them in mass quantities.

But I digress.  So I never did find the appropriate pattern for the messy bun hat, but I did find my knitting mojo.  That day, I purchased a beautiful yarn that I knitted up into a soft peach cowl for my son’s girlfriend.  As soon as that project was done, back to the store I went.  This time, infinity scarves for my daughter-in-law and both granddaughters.

Big sigh, I love knitting!

mvb

One thought on “Socks…Uh No!

  1. I know I will try again, I think I needed to do some projects that would give me success before try socks again. I have three skeins of self patterning sock yarn I have to use! Thanks for following. 🤗

    Like

Leave a Reply

